Visit Andorra

Bereicherung der Besuchererfahrung durch Personalisierung

Herausforderungen

  • Verbesserung der Customer Journey
  • Genauere und dynamischere Segmentierung
  • Verwaltung von mehrsprachigen internationalen Kampagnen
  • Reduzierung der Bounce-Rate
  • Steigerung des SEO-Traffics
  • Cloud-Migration

Projektübersicht

  • New Look & Feel
  • CRM-Verknüpfung mit eZ Platform durch eZ API Konnektoren
  • Aktualisieren von zielspezifischem Inhalt zur Verbesserung der SEO-Strategie
  • Besucher und Inhalte segmentieren
  • Reisekonfigurator mit Symfony erstellen
  • Aufbau eines privaten Benutzerbereichs mit Mehrwertinhalten
  • Migration der Webseite von eZ Publish auf  eZ Platform mit Legacy Bridge 

Geschäftsvorteile

  • Unterstützung für fünf jährliche Marketingkampagnen in 10 Märkten und neun Sprachen
  • 1,2 Millionen neue Benutzer auf der Plattform 2019, was einem Wachstum von 45% im Jahresvergleich entspricht
  • Größeres Besucherengagement und geringere Absprungrate durch Personalisierung
  • Besucher können Aktivitäten planen, ohne sich anzumelden
  • Andorra World Fan Community-Plattform schafft reichhaltigere Kundenprofile 

Andorra personalisiert das Besuchererlebnis

Das Fürstentum Andorra ist eine kleine unabhängige Nation, die in den Pyrenäen zwischen Frankreich und Spanien liegt. Seine Wirtschaft ist stark vom Tourismus abhängig: 8,5 Millionen Besucher jährlich machen etwa 50% des BIP des Fürstentums aus. Die Tourismusorganisation Visit Andorra führt jedes Jahr große Winter- und Sommermarketingkampagnen sowie drei kleinere Marketingkampagnen durch, darunter eine für den im Land ansässigen Cirque du Soleil.

eZ Platform ist eine robuste Plattform mit einem zuverlässigen Partner, so dass der Kunde darauf bestand die nächsten Schritte mit eZ Platform zu unternehmen. Migrationsprojekte können eine Herausforderung sein, aber die Legacy Bridge und die Unterstützung durch ihre digitale Agentur Infinitum Digital (Microblau Group) machten den Wechsel reibungslos.

Die fortschrittlicheren Funktionalitäten der eZ Platform ermöglichen eine größere und vielseitigere Personalisierung. Gezielte Inhalte, ein dynamischer Reisekonfigurator sowie ein Fokus auf SEO steigern die Besucherzahlen, senken die Absprungraten und binden die Besucher an die Marke Andorra.

With eZ Platform we can reach our potential customers and personalize their online experience to match their interests in Andorra
Xavier Gallego
Head of IT and Digital Projects
Visit Andorra

Die Wirtschaft Andorras ist eng mit dem Tourismus verbunden, daher muss sich das Fürstentum auf dem Markt abheben und ständig innovative Wege finden, um Besucher zu gewinnen und zu begeistern. Personalisierung, ein breit angelegtes internationales Kampagnenmanagement und eine leistungsfähigere SEO-Strategie sind die wichtigsten Triebfedern des Digital-First-Marketing-Ansatzes.

Den Ansatz und die Philosophie des Projekts fasst Xavier Gallego, Leiter der Abteilung IT und digitale Projekte bei Visit Andorra, zusammen. “Wir arbeiten hart daran, den Ansatz unserer Kunden zu erkennen und wollen jedes Besuchererlebnis so weit wie möglich personalisieren. Die Hauptidee ist die Überwindung des Konzepts eines globalen Internetnutzers”, sagt Gallego. “So etwas wie einen typischen Internet-Nutzer gibt es nicht.”

Dieser weitreichende Ansatz erforderte eine flexible, facettenreiche Plattform. So wurde beschlossen, die Tourismuswerbungs-Website visitandorra.com von eZ Publish auf eZ Platform zu migrieren. Diese Migration ist im Gange, und im Jahr 2020 wird die alte Admin-Benutzeroberfläche vollständig ersetzt werden. “Rückwärtskompatibilität ist sehr wichtig für Projekte, die Bestand haben müssen”.  Visit Andorra hat in den letzten acht Jahren seine digitale Strategie mit der Technologie von Ibexa weiterentwickelt.

You can choose the days you want to stay, the type of activities you want to do, and you can order and re-order all these activities giving you the ability to create a highly personalized schedule for your stay in Andorra
Xavier Gallego
Head of IT and Digital Projects
Visit Andorra

Dieses Personalisierungsprojekt ist ehrgeizig. Der erste Schritt bestand darin, das Identifikationsmodul der eZ Platform mit dem bestehenden Customer Relationship Manager-System von vistitandorra.com zu verbinden. Visit Andorra hat etwa 600.000 registrierte Benutzer, so dass die Datenbank umfangreich ist. “Wir haben die gesamte Erweiterbarkeit und den API-Ansatz der eZ Platform genutzt, um die Systeme zu verbinden und so eine reibungslose Kundenreise zu ermöglichen”, erklärt Gallego.

Im Laufe des Jahres 2020 wird das Profiling für Besucher, die sich einloggen, als ein Segment im System identifiziert werden. Um darauf aufzubauen, arbeitet Visit Andorra mit dem Customer Success Team von Ibexa - und natürlich mit den Personalisierungsfunktionen der Plattform - zusammen, um Personas auf der Grundlage dieser Besuchersegmente zu erstellen und hochgradig zielgerichtete Inhalte anzubieten, um die Konversion zu steigern.

Wenn Sie möchten, dass Besucher Ihr Land besser kennen lernen, müssen Sie Ihre Besucher kennen lernen. Nicht alle Touristen gehen in den Winterurlaub, um zum Beispiel Ski zu fahren - viele werden nach einem Winterkuraufenthalt oder einer Kombination aus beidem suchen. Für einige Skifahrer sind Unterkünfte und Restaurants zweitrangig, für andere hingegen ist ein feines Essen oder eine Reflexzonenbehandlung nach einem Tag auf der Piste ein entscheidendes Element ihres Urlaubs. Und natürlich werden Reisende mit Kindern ganz andere Prioritäten haben als jüngere Touristen oder Touristen im Ruhestand.

We used all the extensibility and API approach of eZ Platform to link the systems to create a smooth customer journey
Xavier Gallego
Head of IT and Digital Projects
Visit Andorra

Ein Projekt, das im vergangenen Jahr abgeschlossen wurde, befasst sich mit dieser Frage der Wahlmöglichkeiten und Optionen. Die Webseite verfügt nun über einen vielseitigen und effektiven Reisekonfigurator mit dem offenen Standard Symfony. “Sie können die Tage für Ihren Aufenthalt wählen, sowie die gewünschten Aktivitäten. All diese Aktivitäten können Sie bestellen und anpassen”, erklärt Gallego.

“Die Auswahl von kulturellen Aktivitäten und Aufenthaltsorten, Restaurants, Aktivitäten innerhalb von Museen - die flexible Auswahl all dieser Informationen gibt Ihnen die Möglichkeit, einen sehr persönlichen Zeitplan für Ihren Aufenthalt in Andorra zu erstellen”.

Besucher können mit dem Konfigurator herumspielen, ohne sich registrieren zu müssen - immer ein Hindernis für Interaktionen. Der spielerische Aspekt der Funktionalität (wie auch ihr offensichtlicher Nutzen) besteht darin, Besucher über diese Barriere zu bringen.

Sie registrieren sich, um ihren Reiseplan zu speichern und ihn möglicherweise mit den Redakteuren der Webseite zu teilen. An dieser Stelle wird es interessant, denn die Reisepläne verraten viel über den Geschmack und die Vorlieben der verschiedenen Personas.  “Redakteure können die Zeitpläne nutzen, um Trends zu erkennen und vordefinierte Reisekonfigurationen für bestimmte Segmente zu erstellen”, sagt Gallego. Besucher können ihre Konfigurationen mit anderen (registrierten) Benutzern im privaten Community-Bereich, Andorraworld Fan, teilen. Diese Erfahrung des Teilens und Vergleichens von Reiseplänen steigert das Engagement für die Marke Andorra.

With eZ Platform Cloud it is easy to have different versions, to test different things and to deploy whenever we like. And everything is going really well!
Xavier Gallego
Head of IT and Digital Projects
Visit Andorra

Die intelligente Lokalisierung ist ein weiterer Aspekt der Suche nach dem einzelnen Besucher. Wenn Sie zu visitandorra.com mit einer IP-Adresse mit Sitz in Frankreich kommen, ist die Website auf Französisch. Für verschiedene Märkte gibt es unterschiedliche Strategien.

Im Januar wird ein spanischer Besucher auf visitandorra.com eine Homepage mit der Winterkampagne sehen, während einem Besucher in Russland bereits das Angebot an Sommerzielen und Aktivitäten in Andorra vorgestellt wird. Dies spiegelt die praktische Realität wider, dass die meisten russischen Touristen einige Zeit brauchen würden, um eine Reise in die Pyrenäen zu planen - und im Januar werden sie genug Schnee gesehen haben!

Der SEO-Traffic neigt dazu, besser zu konvertieren als Besuche, die durch Pay-per-Click generiert werden. Visit Andorra hat hart daran gearbeitet, seine SEO-Strategie zu optimieren - 40% der Besuche sind organisch, und die Besucher bleiben länger. Bounce-Raten und SEO-Traffic können entscheidender sein als der Haupttraffic, und auch das verbessert sich.

Im Allgemeinen zog die Website 2019 im Vergleich zu 2018 46 % mehr Besucher an. “Die Absprungrate sinkt, sinkt, sinkt. Dies ist darauf zurückzuführen, dass wir die allgemeinen Kundenerlebnisse und die spezifischen Kundenreisen verbessert haben”, so Gallego.

Ein wichtiger Aspekt des Projekts ist die Einführung der eZ Platform Cloud, da die Vor-Ort-Architektur von Visit Andorra nicht flexibel genug war, um die ständige Weiterentwicklung zu bewältigen.

“Normalerweise haben wir mehr als ein laufendes Projekt”, erklärt Xavier Gallego. “Manchmal haben wir vier oder fünf Entwickler, die an verschiedenen Projekten arbeiten”, erklärt Xavier Gallego. Mit eZ Platform Cloud ist es einfach, verschiedene Versionen zu haben, einen Zweig der Entwicklung zu erstellen und diesen Zweig zusammenzuführen, Links zu senden und verschiedene Dinge an die Teams in Andorra zu testen. Und zu implementieren, wann immer wir wollen. Wir führen den Einsatz jetzt an Freitagnachmittagen durch und wir führen den Einsatz an Wochenenden durch. Alles läuft wirklich gut!”

 

Success Story herunterladen

Visit Andorra

Enriching the Visitor Experience with Personalization

Challenges

  • Improve customer journeys 
  • Allow for more accurate and dynamic segmentation/ customization
  • Manage multilingual international campaigns 
  • Reduce bounce rate 
  • Boost SEO-generated traffic 
  • Cloud migration 

Project Summary

  • New look and Feel 
  • Linking Customer Relation Management with eZ Platform using eZ API Connectors 
  • Actualize target-specific content to improve SEO strategy 
  • Segment visitors and content   
  • Build travel configurator using Symfony 
  • Build a private user area with added  value content 
  • Migration of site from eZ Publish to eZ Platform using Legacy Bridge 

Business Benefits 

  • Support for five annual marketing campaigns in 10 markets and nine languages
  • 1.2 million new users on 2019 platform, representing year-on-year growth of 45% 
  • Greater visitor engagement and lower bounce rate through personalization
  • Visitors can plan activities without registering
  • Andorra World Fan community platform creates richer customer profiles  

Andorra Delivers a Bold Digital-first Tourism Strategy

Andorra wants more virtual and physical visitors – to its website, and to its many attractions. An ambitious project of personalization, international campaign management, and SEO optimization was undertaken to make this a reality. It required a migration to eZ Platform, a new front-end and using APIs to connect the existing customer data base to the new platform. It is early days, but visitor numbers are up, bounce rates are down, and more traffic is being generated in the overall sources.

The Principality of Andorra is a small independent nation situated in the Pyrenees between France and Spain. Its economy has a tight relationship with tourism: 8.5m annual visitors account for roughly 50% of the principality’s GDP. Its tourist body, Visit Andorra, mounts major winter and summer marketing campaigns each year as well as three smaller ones, including one for Cirque du Soleil, which has a base in the country.

eZ Platform has long been a robust platform and a reliable partner so the client insisted that the next steps be taken with eZ Platform. Migration projects can be challenging but the Legacy Bridge and support from its digital agency Infinitum Digital (Microblau Group), are making the switch friction-free. 

The more advanced functionalities of eZ Platform allow for greater and more versatile personalization. Targeted content, a dynamic travel configurator as well as a focus on SEO is boosting visitor numbers, bringing down bounce rates and engaging visitors with the Andorra brand.

With eZ Platform we can reach our potential customers and personalize their online experience to match their interests in Andorra
Xavier Gallego
Head of IT and Digital Projects
Visit Andorra

Andorra’s economy has a tight relationship with tourism, so the Principality needs to stand out in the market and constantly find innovative ways to engage and capture visitors. Personalization, broad international campaign management and a more powerful SEO strategy are the chief drivers of its digital-first marketing approach.

The approach and philosophy of the project is summed up by Xavier Gallego, Head of IT and Digital Projects for Visit Andorra. “We want to personalize each visitor experience as much as we can. The main idea is to overcome the concept of a global internet user,” says Gallego. “There is no such thing as a typical internet user.” 

This far-reaching approach needed a flexible, multi-faceted platform and the decision was taken to migrate the tourist promotion website visitandorra.com from eZ Publish to eZ Platform. This migration is ongoing, and in 2020 the legacy admin user interface will be completely replaced. “Backward compatibility is very important for projects that need to last.” Visit Andorra has been evolving its digital strategy using eZ over the past eight years.

You can choose the days you want to stay, the type of activities you want to do, and you can order and re-order all these activities giving you the ability to create a highly personalized schedule for your stay in Andorra
Xavier Gallego
Head of IT and Digital Projects
Visit Andorra

This personalization project is ambitious. The first step was to link the identification module of eZ Platform with the existing Customer Relationship Manager system of vistitandorra.com. Visit Andorra has some 600,000 registered users so the database is extensive. “We used all the extensibility and API approach of eZ Platform to link the systems to create a smooth customer journey,” Gallego explains.

During 2020, profiling for visitors who log in will be identified as a segment in the system. To build on this, Visit Andorra is working with Ibexa’s Customer Success team – and of course the personalization functionalities of the platform – to construct personas based on these visitor segments and offer highly targeted content to boost conversion.

If you want visitors to get to know your country better, you have to get to know your visitors. Not all tourists go on a winter holiday to ski, for example – many will be looking for a winter spa break, or a combination of both. 

For some skiers, accommodation and restaurants are secondary, but for others, fine dining or a reflexology treatment after a day on the slopes is a crucial element of their holiday. And of course, travelers with children will have quite different priorities from younger tourists, or tourists in retirement. 

We used all the extensibility and API approach of eZ Platform to link the systems to create a smooth customer journey
Xavier Gallego
Head of IT and Digital Projects
Visit Andorra

A project that has been completed over the past year addresses this question of choice and options. The site now has a versatile and effective travel configurator using the open stardard Symfony. “You can choose the days you want to stay, the type of activities you want to do, and you can order and re-order all these activities,” Gallego explains. 

“Mixing cultural activities, mixing places to stay, mixing restaurants, mixing activities inside museums, mixing all this information gives you the ability to create a highly personalized schedule for your stay in Andorra.” 

Visitors can play around with the configurator without having to register – always a barrier to engagement. The gamification aspect of the functionality (as well as its obvious usefulness) is getting visitors across that barrier. 

They register to save their travel schedule, and possibly to share it with site editors. This is where it gets interesting because the travel schedules reveal a lot of about the tastes and preferences of different personas. 

“Editors can use the schedules to spot trends and create predefined travel configurations for specific segments,” says Gallego. Visitors can share their configurations with other (registered) users in the private community area, Andorraworld Fan. This experience of sharing and comparing travel plans heightens engagement with the Andorra brand.

With eZ Platform Cloud it is easy to have different versions, to test different things and to deploy whenever we like. And everything is going really well!
Xavier Gallego
Head of IT and Digital Projects
Visit Andorra

Smart localization is another aspect of the drive to drill down to the individual visitor. If you come to visitandorra.com, with an IP address based in France, the site will be in French. There are different strategies for different markets. 
In January, a Spanish visitor to visitandorra.com will see a homepage with the winter campaign whereas a visitor in Russia will already be presented with the range of summer destinations and activities in Andorra. This reflects the practical reality that it would take most Russian tourists quite some time to plan a trip to the Pyrenees – and in January they will have seen enough snow!

SEO traffic tends to convert better than visits generated by pay-per-click and Visit Andorra has worked hard to optimize its SEO strategy – 40% of visits are organic, and visitors are staying longer. Bounce rates and SEO-traffic may be more decisive than overall traffic, and this is improving too.

In general, the site attracted 46 % more visitors in 2019 compared to 2018.  Says Gallego: “The bounce rate is going down, down, down. This is because we have improved the overall customer experience and the specific customer journeys involved.”
An important aspect of the project is the adoption of eZ Platform Cloud as Visit Andorra’s on-premise architecture was not flexible enough to manage its constant evolution. 

“Normally we have more than one project rolling,” explains Xavier Gallego. “Sometimes we have four or five developers working on different projects. With eZPlatform Cloud it is easy to have different versions, to create a branch of the development and to merge this branch, to send links, to test different things to the Andorra teams. And to deploy whenever we like. We now deploy on Friday afternoons and we’re deploying at weekends. And everything is going really well!”

Download Success Story